Free Book Online
Categories
Little Face: Culver Valley Crime Book 1

Pdf

Little Face: Culver Valley Crime Book 1

3.4 (2858)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | Little Face: Culver Valley Crime Book 1.pdf | English
    Sophie Hannah(Author)

The first extraordinary psychological suspense thriller from internationally bestselling author Sophie Hannah. Not to be missed for readers of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins

'Terrifying' Scotsman
'Ingenious' Sunday Times

It's every mother's nightmare . . .

She's only been gone two hours.

Her husband David was meant to be looking after their two-week-old daughter. But when Alice Fancourt walks into the nursery, her terrifying ordeal begins, for Alice insists the baby in the cot is a stranger she's never seen before.

With an increasingly hostile and menacing David swearing she must either be mad or lying, how can Alice make the police believe her before it's too late?

Quite brilliant - I was extremely impressed (The Times)This may well turn out to be the detective novel of the year . . . A terrifying mystery of manipulation, counter-manipulation and, finally, astounding revelation - it's a haunting story told with bewitching skill. (Scotsman)Chilling and completely gripping - I stayed up half the night to finish it. (Marie Claire)The author is a poet by trade and she brings a wealth of psychological and literary subtlety to bear in this impressive novel. Smart and disarmingly unnerving (Daily Mail)Hannah adapts to crime fiction with arresting aplomb: her characters are vivid, the novel's challenging double narrative is handled with flair, and its denouement is ingenious (The Sunday Times)Women in peril flit through the pages of traditional Gothic fiction, murmuring 'Had I but known!' as they fall for the wrong man, open the wrong door or apply for the wrong job. Sophie Hannah takes the trusty formula in both hands, gives it a vigorous shake and uses it to produce something fascinating and original in her novel. Beautifully written the novel is outstandingly chilling - terror lurks in the half understood and in anticipation. Little Face is a hugely promising debut. Sophie Hannah is an author to watch (Andrew Taylor Spectator)Hannah's whodunit milks a classic formula with subversive results. This missing-baby tale chimes with very modern anxieties. Custody issues lie at the heart of the resolution, and the increasingly perverse relationship between Alice and David is grounded in recognisable reality that serves only to make our flesh crawl more (Emma Hagestadt Independent)A suspensful and psychological thriller, the plot twists and turns right up until the very last (Heat)Intriguing. Hannah's depiction of relationships tested to the limit by domestic tragedy is impressive (Simon Shaw Mail on Sunday)A gripping psychological thriller (Independent on Sunday)Sophie Hannah is an award-winning poet and short story writer, and for this, her first novel, she has come up with a chilling thriller . . . I was left thinking about the book for days (Guardian)

3.2 (11086)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 368 pages
  • Sophie Hannah(Author)
  • Hodder Paperbacks; New Ed edition (24 Aug. 2006)
  • English
  • 8
  • Crime, Thrillers & Mystery
Read online or download a free book: Little Face: Culver Valley Crime Book 1

Review Text

  • By Tallulah_C on 28 August 2013

    I really loved some of Hannah's other books - Lasting Damage, The Point of Rescue - but I just didn't warm to this one. I think maybe it was the character of Alice, she just really started to annoy me. Why she doesn't try to do something when her husband starts becoming so abusive towards her, I don't know. I also thought the story dragged on for way longer than it could have, and I actually was starting to get a little bit irritated by the end. I guessed the 'big twist' quite a while before it happened, which was really disappointing. When you look back on Alice's mindset throughout the book, once you know the ending, it doesn't even make much sense. Not one of Hannah's best!

  • By Ros Parker on 29 June 2017

    A very well written tale, hard to work out the culprit until the final chapters.

  • By Barbara J on 12 April 2015

    Not really my taste after all.

  • By Guest on 2 June 2016

    The plot was somewhat complex however intriguingly captivating. The ending was quite unexpected... Little face renders us to imagine a variety of endings.

  • By Loubylou on 18 December 2016

    Excellent read

  • By Mrs Wendy Banner on 2 September 2013

    Typical Sophie Hannah book, couldn't put it down, keeps going right to the end and just leaves you wanting more...

  • By Screz on 2 November 2013

    What I liked most about this book is the interplay and relationships between the male detective and his female boss. beautifully done and made makes me want to read more from this series. I also liked the plot, the psychological motivation of the main character was well drawn subtle and convincing.

  • Name:
    The message text:

    Other Ebook

    Miscellanea