Free Book Online
Categories
Escape to Perdition

Pdf

Escape to Perdition

3.4 (1188)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | Escape to Perdition.pdf | English
    James Silvester(Author)
Prague 2015. Herbert Biely, aged hero of the Prague Spring, stands on the brink of an historic victory, poised to reunite the Czech and Slovak Republics twenty-six years after the Velvet Revolution. The imminent Czech elections are the final stage in realising his dream of reunification, but other parties have their own agendas and plans for the fate of the region. A shadowy collective, masked as an innocuous European Union Institute, will do anything to preserve the status quo. The mission of Institute operative Peter Lowes is to prevent reunification by the most drastic of measures. Yet Peter is not all that he seems. A deeply troubled man, desperate to escape the past, his resentment towards himself, his assignment and his superiors deepens as he questions not just the cause, but his growing feelings for the beautiful and captivating mission target. As alliances shift and the election countdown begins, Prague becomes the focal point for intrigue on an international scale. The body count rises, options fade, and Peter's path to redemption is clouded in a maelstrom of love, deception and murder. Can he confront his past to save the future? This is a high quality page turning thriller and perfect for fans of Le Carre.

Years after marvelling at the stories of the 1968 Spring and the Velvet Revolution, James found himself sat in a Prague Blues Bar falling in love with the city in person. A graduate of Politics and Modern History, and a long standing blues DJ for Modradiouk.net, James's affection for the atmospheric, dark and seedy Cold War thrillers of old was reawakened by his growing affection for this cobbled land of gothic secrets and his writing bone began to itch. James's career has covered a myriad of roles across the public and private sectors including high level technical recruitment and business development, to his current role within HR Consultancy; and it was a bad day at the office which persuaded him to finally act upon his long held dream of writing. The result was his 2015 debut novel Escape to Perdition, which reflected his love both of central Europe and the espionage genre and was met with wide spread acclaim. James has also written for The Prague Times and his work has been featured by Doctor Who Worldwide and travel site An Englishman in Slovakia. He is currently developing a number of projects across a variety of media. A diehard Whovian, Man City fan, Rum drinker and Christian, James is an unrepentent member of the 48%. The Prague Ultimatum is his second book and will be published with Urbane in April 2017.

2.3 (4309)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 320 pages
  • James Silvester(Author)
  • Urbane Publications Limited (30 Jun. 2015)
  • English
  • 5
  • Crime, Thrillers & Mystery
Read online or download a free book: Escape to Perdition

Review Text

  • By Mark Mayes on 29 June 2016

    An exceptionally well-written political thriller, set in Prague. Escape to Perdition was a joy to read. The setting and atmosphere of Prague is beautifully realised. The characters are multi-dimensional, nuanced, and wholly believable. A particular strength of the novel, I felt, was James Silvester’s gift for writing convincing and compelling dialogue; for verbal swordplay that at once reveals character and serves the exigencies of plot.Tension is kept up throughout the book, and the romantic aspect of the narrative only adds to the intensity (this will become apparent on reading). I can imagine significant research has been undertaken to make this book what it is – but this regional/political knowledge is never laboured, nor does it detract from the pace or dramatic qualities of the plot. There are some very surprising twists and turns as the story hurtles towards its dénouement.James Silvester’s depiction of his central character, Peter Lowe, is a masterclass in creating a tormented, drink-sodden, and psychologically complex anti-hero, by means of Peter’s dialogue, physical description, and the revelation of his inner life. Peter’s master/nemesis, ‘The Child’, is a chilling study in psychopathy (yet even his utter ruthlessness is given a back-story that renders his darkness explicable). Svobodova, likewise, is drawn in a deeply sympathetic and emotionally layered way. Clearly, Prague itself is a most significant ‘character’ in Escape to Perdition, and one which is as indispensable to the novel as a whole as Vienna is to The Third Man.It will be fascinating to see what this very talented author will give us next.

  • By Andrew Smith on 28 August 2016

    James Silvester does such a great job with characterization in Escape to Perdition that by the end of the book I felt I knew his protagonist, Peter Lowe, as well or better than I knew myself. And the other characters seemed as real as my close friends or long-time neighbours. Combine that with breathtaking twists of a fiendishly ingenious plot plus gritty yet beautiful depictions of Prague, and the result is one of the most original and entertaining political thrillers I've ever read. Peter seemed way more credible in the portrayal of his weaknesses as well as his strengths than any James Bond or George Smiley. I have to admit to sometimes having a catch in my throat at the amazing candour with which he describes himself, often expressing something we've all felt at times but not often had the insight or the guts to admit. For example: "And in the end you do end up like some walking caricature; wrapped up in the image of yourself you've created because that's all you have left and it's all you know how to do." Romance, intrigue, travel, political machinations, and blues music ... Escape to Perdition has it all in spades. A terrifically engaging read. Can't wait for the movie!

  • By Tim Heath on 29 May 2016

    There is no doubt quality and ability in this author, who mentions at the back his desire to write more books. This is something he certainly should do!Having been to Prague (and living myself in another 'Stag Party' favourite) I really enjoyed the sense of feeling and reality. The story was well put together - if not a created, as yet unreal outcome - though who knows, maybe it is just a couple of years away?The characters were great, brilliantly written, most genuinely interesting people for anyone to meet. Maybe not The Child.The one critical thing for me, which didn't detract my enjoyment of this excellent novel - this book was clearly five star quality just pages in - were the mistakes. I know a few always slip through, but there were a few too many. Some might get annoyed at that, though not me.Well done! Do write some more. And keep living the dream!

  • Name:
    The message text:

    Miscellanea